Dies lecture

The Dies lecture 'The Praise of Audacity' will be deliverd by Henk van der Molen (1954), Professor of Psychology at Erasmus University Rotterdam and since 2009 Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences. He will step down as Dean at the end of 2017. 

Professor Van der Molen has been associated with the Institute of Psychology EUR since 2001. Together with founding dean prof. dr. Henk Schmidt he has been responsible for the formation of the Bachelor and Master programmes in Psychology. Both programmes have been rated by students as the best psychology programmes in the Netherlands for more than 10 years. 

Since 2005, Professor Van der Molen was chairman and programme director of the EUR Institute of Psychology. Previously, he was professor at the Open University of the Netherlands and the University of Groningen. 

Van der Molen has extensive managerial experience in a wide variety of functions. Prior to his appointment at EUR, he was Dean of the Faculty of Psychology at the Open University of the Netherlands. He was also chairman of the General and Executive Board of the Nederlands Instituut van Psychologen (Dutch Association of Psychologists), the Chamber of Psychology of the VSNU (Dutch Association of Universities) and various accreditation committees.  

He studied clinical psychology at the University of Groningen and graduated cum laude in 1985 with his thesis 'Hulp als onderwijs. Effecten van cursussen voor verlegen mensen' (transl. Treatment as Education. Effects of courses for shy people). In collaboration with others, Professor Van der Molen has published over thirty books. All together around 450.000 copies of these books have been sold. He has also (co-)authored over 180 national and international publications. 

Moreover, he has been involved in the development of more than twenty audio-visual programs on communication skills and twenty interactive computer programs for the acquisition of professional skills, such as communication, psychodiagnostic and academic writing skills. He has been (co-) promoter of twenty PhD dissertations.