Honorary promotors

Prof.dr. Pearl Dykstra 

Pearl Dykstra is Professor of Empirical Sociology at Erasmus University Rotterdam and Deputy Chair of the High Level Group of scientists advising the Cabinet of European Commissioners.

Pearl Dykstra was appointed chair of Empirical Sociology at Erasmus University Rotterdam in 2009. Previously, she had a chair in Kinship Demography at Utrecht University and was a senior scientist at the Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute (NIDI) in The Hague. She is director of research of the Department of Public Administration and Sociology at the EUR. 

She is an internationally regarded specialist on intergenerational solidarity, aging societies, family change, aging and the life course, and loneliness. Large scale projects for which she has been awarded grants include the Netherlands Kinship Panel Study (NKPS) and the EU 7th Framework programme MULTILINKS.

In 2012 she received an ERC Advanced Investigator Grant for the research project “Families in context”, which focuses on the ways in which policy, economic, and cultural contexts structure intergenerational and gendered dependencies in families.

She is consortium member of the Generations and Gender Programme (GGP), which is on the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO) National Roadmap for Large-Scale Research Facilities. She became a member of the Board of the Social Sciences and Humanities Division of NWO in 2016. She serves as Scientific Director ODISSEI, the Open Data Infrastructure for Social Science and Economics Innovations. 

She is an elected member of the Netherlands Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW, 2004) and served as Vice-President from 2011-2016. She was an elected member of the Dutch Social Sciences Council (SWR) from 2006-2016. In 2010 she was elected as fellow of the Gerontological Society of America, and in 2016 as fellow of Academia Europaea. She was appointed to the High Level Group of scientists advising the Cabinet of European Commissioners in 2015, and has been serving as its deputy chair since 2016.