The University Council: members and committees

There are 12 students and 12 staff members in the University Council, all elected by the university community. They are organized in a student section and a staff section. All members take part in the plenary meetings. In addition, the council members are divided over various substantive committees in which topics for plenary meetings are prepared.


The university council consists of six committees that each deal with different subjects. Below are the committees with a number of examples of subjects.

Community, Research & Education (CRE)

Chair: Daniel Sieczkowski

Examples of topics:
• Investments in education quality
• Innovation of education
• Studying with an impairment
• Financial support fund for students
• Research support

Personnel, Facilities & Organization (PFO)

Chair: dr. Clemens Festen

Examples of topics:
• Campus infrastructure
• Sustainability
• Equal & fair career opportunities
• Diversity
• Working conditions
• Employee satisfaction 

Internal & External Affairs (IEA)

Chair: Kacper Neuman

Examples of topics:
• Visibility of the council
• Internal activities
• External communication
• Elections

Financial Affairs (FIN)

Chair: Nadine Nieuwstad

Examples of topics:
• University budget
• University allocation model

Confidentiality Committee (CC)

Chair: Aleid Barmentlo

Examples of topics:
• Appointments of certain positions
• Matters or personal nature


Chair: Aleid Barmentlo

• Daily management of the council
• Agenda composition



EBUC (Chair: Jiska Engelbert)

SBUC (Chair: Nadine Nieuwstad)


Clemens Festen (chair), Jiska Engelbert, Ben Bode, Emese von Bone, John Piarelal, John                  van Wel  

Naomi van Kalken (vice-chair), Nadine Nieuwstad, Samir Oassem, Samira Yekhlef, Rianne Hordijk, Louise van Koppen


Bianca Jadoenath (vice-chair), Vladimir Karamychev, Jamie van der Klaauw, Judith Wiskie      

Daniel Sieczkowski (chair), Christiaan Meinsma, Boris Pulskens, Kacper Neuman, Jurrien Loosveld, Seungwon Kim


Ben Bode, Clemens Festen, Vladimir Karamychev, John van Wel

Nadine Nieuwstad (chair), Samir Oassem, Seungwon Kim


Jiska Engelbert, Emese von Bone

Boris Pulskens, Naomi van Kalken


John Piarelal

Kacper Neuman (chair), Christiaan Meinsma, Rianne Hordijk, Louise van Koppen, Naomi van Kalken


Clemens Festen, Jiska Engelbert

Nadine Nieuwstad, Daniel Sieczkowski

Meeting schedule
The meeting schedule of the University Council can be found here.