The board

The tasks of the EEF board comprise:

• Determining the general policy of the Erasmus Education Fund;
• Monitoring the status of the Fund;
• Recruiting and maintaining contact with the members of the Committee of recommendation;
• Determining the spending policy, budget and financial statements.

Current board

The current board consists of Philip Hans Franses, Herman Vaanholt and Aleksandra Stuip. They represent the relevant stakeholders the Erasmus Education Fund. Furthermore, they possess the knowledge, experience and motivation that the EEF wants to recognize in its board.

  • Prof. Philip Hans Franses

    Philip Hans Franses is the dean of the Erasmus School of Economics since 2006. He has a background in econometrics and his diverse, but always practically relevant, scientific work has given the international reputation of Econometrics in the Netherlands a big impulse.
    Recently, Franses has effectuated a joint educational program together with the Anton de Kom University from Suriname.

  • MSc. Herman Vaanholt

    Herman Vaanholt is an alumnus of the Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (IIB: Inter University Faculty of Business). He is co-founder of one of the first call centers in the Netherlands, Project Support (now SNT). Since the flotation of SNT, Vaanholt is involved in several projects as investor and advisor.
    He is also co-initiator and organizer of Rotterdam City Racing, the biggest motorsports event in the Netherlands.

  • MSc. Aleksandra Stuip

    Aleksandra Stuip currently works as Online Marketing Adviser at Erasmus School of Economics.
    She graduated in 2007 with Master of Science degree in Economics and Business specialising in Marketing.
    She started her professional career at Erasmus School of Economics as a Coordinator of International Bachelor of Economics and Business Economics followed by a position within Marketing & Internationalisation Department at Education Service Centre. Later on she became a coordinator of this department followed by a position of International Marketing Adviser at International Institute of Social Studies in The Hague where she worked for almost three years establishing a coherent marketing strategy.

The Committee of Recommendation

The members of the Committee of Recommendation seek widespread attention for the objectives of the fund and encourage people and organizations to make donations to the fund. They may also be asked by the board to advise on the choices that need to be made.

The committee is comprised of high-ranking individuals from government, business, social organizations and the Erasmus University Rotterdam itself.

  • Prof. Jan Peter Balkenende

    Jan Peter Balkenende is the former Prime Minister of the Netherlands. He is currently Professor of Governance, Institutions and Internationalisation at Erasmus School of Economics and Erasmus School of Law of the Erasmus University Rotterdam and a partner at Ernst & Young.

  • MSc. Marc Dullaert

    Msc Marc Dullaert was the Netherlands' first Children's Ombudsman until 1 April 2016. Next to that he is the founder and chairman of children's rights organization the KidsRights Foundation and founder of the International Children’s Peace Prize. Furthermore, he has years of experience in the world of media.