Subject groups

Erasmus School of Philosophy is structured in four subject groups, which represent different philosophical research fields. Research and education are divided into History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Man and Culture, Theoretical Philosophy and Practical Philosophy. Each subject group is led by a professor, respectively: Prof. L. van Bunge, Prof. J. de Mul and Prof. J.J. Vromen.

Students decide on specialisation in one of the four subject groups towards the end of their BA. Subsequently they can opt for additional modules and write a philosophical dissertation on a topic of this research area.

Governance and Participation in Decision-making

Management Team

The Management Team consists of:
Prof.dr. F. van der Duijn Schouten, Interim Dean
Drs. T. Herold, Executive Board Secretary
Dr. B. Leeuwenburgh, Education Director
Prof.dr. F.A. Muller, Director of research

Faculty Council

Major decisions and policy proposals are presented to the Faculty Council (Faculteitsraad), which acts as a participation body with both advisory power and the power of assent. Consisting of four staff members and four students, the Faculty Board discusses the general state of affairs in the faculty with the Dean.

Programme Committee

The Programme Committee (Opleidingscommissie (OC)) in Erasmus School of Philosophy mainly deals with educational matters. Every year, the Committee issues advice about the proposed curriculum and considers whether the study programmes are feasible for the students. The Programme Committee monitors the implementation of educational assessments and also makes its own proposals for improving the quality of the education provided. The Committee organises study days on the theme of education and how to improve the quality of education. The Programme Committee consists of staff members, student members and advisory members.

Examination Board

The Examination Board (Examencommissie) of Erasmus School of Philosophy supervises a range of matters related to examination. The Board assesses the quality of examination and the implementation of Binding Study Advice (BSA). It also supervises the cohesion of the final graduation programmes, the quality of the Bachelor’s and Master’s thesis, the provision of proof of admission to the Master’s study programme and grants exemptions if applicable. Furthermore, the Board of Examinars monitors examination results and the return from courses, and communicates this information to the Programme Committee for further evaluation.

Permanent Committee on Academic Practice (VCW)

The task of the Permanent Committee on Academic Practice (Vaste Commissie voor Wetenschapsbeoefening (VCW) is to safeguard the quality of the products produced by the faculty staff members. In practice, VCW’s main activity is to prepare for the national external review (every six years) and the local external review (every three years). As part of the preparation for this, Committee members compile a comprehensive research report in which the holders of the various chairs present their research programmes. The report also lists all of the publications of the faculty staff, which includes not only academic articles and books, but also academic and popular publications.