Programme Dynamics of Inclusive Prosperity Conference

Programme 29 November

29 November – Hilton Hotel, Rotterdam

Bringing together leaders from the worlds of business, policy, NGO and academia

11:30-13:00: Registration and Lunch                  

13:00-13:15: Opening of the Plenary

  • Prof.dr Rutger Engels, Rector Magnificus, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Børge Brende, President, World Economic Forum

13:15-15:00: Keynote Presentations and Discussion.

Dilemmas and Opportunities for Inclusive Prosperity: Do we have what it takes?

Moderator: Prof.dr. Jan Peter Balkenende (Erasmus University Rotterdam, former Prime Minister of the Netherlands)

  • Frans van Houten, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Royal Philips
  • Børge Brende, President, World Economic Forum
  • Lise Kingo, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, UN Global Compact
  • Christophe Lanne, Chief Transformation Officer, Natixis
  • Prof.dr. Juliane Reinecke, King’s College London, King’s Business School
  • Prof.dr. Thorsten Beck, Cass Business School, Faculty of Finance

15.00-15.30: Coffee break

15.30-17.00: Breakout Sessions

  • Breakout 1: Measuring and Communicating Long-Term Leadership
    Led by: Andre Chanavat, Refinitiv (Former Financial & Risk Business of Thomson Reuters) and Jan-Menko Grummer, Assurance Leader and Partner, EY
    Intervenor: Prof.dr. Jan Pieter Smits, Statistics Netherlands.
  • Breakout 2: Asset Owners and Investment Managers; Their Role and Responsibility in the Value Chain
    Led by: Lars Dijkstra, FCLT, Kempen Capital Management & Boardmember Eumedion; Dr. Danielle Melis, Independent Board Member in the Financial Sector, Chair of BPPG & Sr Fellow Erasmus School of Law/ICFG and Andrew Parry, Hermes Investment Management
  • Breakout 3: Corporate Governance for the Long-Term
    Led by: Beatriz Pessoa de Araujo, Baker McKenzie and Prof.dr. Marnix van Ginneken, Philips
  • Breakout 4: Corporate Responsibility and Human Rights
    Led by: Prof.dr. Liesbeth Enneking, Erasmus School of Law; Prof.dr. Cees van Dam, Rotterdam School of Management; Jochem de Groot, Microsoft and Jan Kleijssen, Council of Europe

17.00-17.30: Coffee break                            

17.30-18.30: Wrap-up of breakout sessions

  • Reporting on breakout sessions

Breakout 1: Dr. Conrad Heilmann, Erasmus School of Philosophy

Breakout 2: Dr. Emilio Marti, Rotterdam School of Management

Breakout 3: Dr. Lieselot Bisschop, Erasmus School of Law

Breakout 4: Dr. Alessandra Arcuri, Erasmus School of Law

Closing Plenary

  • Christian Hyldahl, Chief Executive Officer, ATP Denmark
  • Prof.dr. Martin de Jong, Scientific Director of the Dynamics of Inclusive Prosperity Initiative, Erasmus University Rotterdam

18.30-19.30         Reception

19.30-22.00         Dinner - Hosted by Philips, UN Global Compact and Erasmus University Rotterdam

  • Short dinner speeches by the hosts of the dinner