Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board is responsible for supervising the administration and management of Erasmus University Rotterdam as a whole. It ensures that the Executive Board complies with legislation, rules and regulations and directives relating to the EUR.
The Supervisory Board advises the Executive Board and is responsible for approving a number of specific decisions taken by the Executive Board.
The Supervisory Board is accountable to the Minister of Education, Culture and Sciences and provides the Minister with information the Minister requests concerning the actions of the Supervisory Board.
The members are appointed and dismissed by the Education Minister. The Minister consults the University Council (or its committee of counsellors) in confidence on this matter. One of the members of the Supervisory Board in particular should enjoy the confidence of the University Council.The Supervisory Board consists of 5 members.

  • H.N.J. (Hans) Smits (Chairman)
  • prof.C.J. (Hans) van Duijn
  • prof. J.E.J. (Corien) Prins
  • P.H.J.M. (Pascal) Visée
  • J.M. van Bijsterveldt-Vliegenthart

The Supervisory Board receives professional support from the Supervisory Board Secretariat.
The Secretary of the Supervisory Board is S.P.C. Theeuwes
Room AT-07, Erasmus Building, Woudestein
T +31 10 408 2717 or  T +31 10 408 2233