







Sam Rijken

Jan Hilgevoord

David Atkinson

Mike Stuart

Jeanne Peijnenburg

The MetaMetaPhysical Club (12th Edition: MMPC12)

Thought Experiments

Locus: Erasmus School of Philosophy, Erasmus University Rotterdam,

Campus Woudestein, Theil Building, Room C1-2.

Plan campus: http://www.eur.nl/wegwijzer/plattegronden/woudestein/

Take streetcar 21 from Rotterdam Central Station or Blaak Station (direction: De Esch).

Datum: Friday 13 December 2019.

Programme

Chairs: F.A. Muller & T.K.A.M. De Mey

13:00 -13:02 hours

Opening: Membership Ritual with Bust of Aristotle and Wooden Hammer

13:02 -14:00 hours

S.M. Rijken (ESPhil, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Three Types of Thought Experiments in Physics

14:00-15:00 hours

D. Atkinson (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)

Heisenberg's Gamma-Ray Thought Experiment

15:00 –16:00 hours: refreshment break in Erasmus Paviljoen.

16:00 - 17:00 hours

M.T. Stuart (Department of Philosophy, University of Geneva, Switzerland)

The Rise of Chemical Thought Experiments

17:00 - 18:00 hours

A.J.M. Peijnenburg (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)

Retrocausality, Regret and Changing the Past

16:30 - 16:31 hours

Dismembership Ritual with Bust of Aristotle and Wooden Hammer



For further information, contact the co-organiser: F.A. Muller [f.a.muller@esphil.eur.nl] or the other co-organiser annex founding father: T.K.A.M. De Mey [demey@esphil.eur.nl].