Graduate Conference in Philosophy of Science



Graduate Conference in Philosophy of Science


8-9 March 2012


Organized by the graduate students of the Faculty of Philosophy and Erasmus Institute for Philosophy and Economics (EIPE) of Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR), The Netherlands



This graduate conference in philosophy of science is an occasion for graduate students to present their work in progress, receive feedback from peers and senior researchers and get in touch with other graduate students.


Please see the full programme here.

Call for papers

We especially invite submissions in the following subfields: 
1.    Philosophy of economics
2.    Formal philosophy of science
3.    History of science

Contributions that focus on formal and historical aspects of the biomedical, social and cognitive sciences are also welcome.
Speakers are invited to present excerpts from their dissertation and working papers. We also welcome the presentation of thesis projects from students who just started their PhD career.
There will be three plenary sessions dedicated to the fields above and an extra session for the presentation of PhD projects. Thirty minutes slots will be allotted to the presentation of papers in the main sessions, and twenty minutes to the presentation of PhD projects. Presentations will be followed by comments by senior researchers and plenary discussion.

Abstract submission

Abstract of maximum 1000 words should be submitted no later than December 15, 2011 by email to Notification of acceptance will be sent by February 1st 2012.

Keynote speakers

  • James McAllister (Universiteit Leiden)
  • Ingrid Robeyns (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam)
  • Arianna Betti (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

Scientific committee

Marcel Boumans (University of Amsterdam), Jeanne Peijnenburg (University of Groningen), Julian Reiss (EUR), Ingrid Robeyns (EUR), Jan-Willem Romeijn (University of Groningen), Eric Schliesser (Ghent University), Jan Sprenger (Tilburg University).

Local organizing committee

Sine Bag᷃atur, François Claveau, René Lazcano, Attilia Ruzzene (all EUR).


Arminius Kerk, Museumpark 3, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

The conference is supported by the Faculty of Philosophy and EIPE (Erasmus Institute for Philosophy and Economics) at the Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR) and NFWT (Dutch-Flemish Network for Philosophy of Science and Technology).

About EIPE

  I attended a symposium at EIPE in June 2010 on philosophical work closely related to my own efforts. The conference facilitated the presentation of some cutting-edge research in the philosophy of justice particularly related to the social sciences and economics. Both in terms of the range of subjects covered and the quality of the papers presented, as well as the vigourous and productive nature of the discussions that followed the presentation of the papers, the symposium was a spectacular success.
Amartya Sen
Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, Harvard University