About the ESHCC
Education and research about history, arts, culture and media

About the Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication

The Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication (ESHCC) is one of the schools of the Erasmus University Rotterdam. The ESHCC hosts the Departments of History, Arts and Culture Studies, and Media & Communication at Erasmus University. Accordingly, the Faculty conducts research in the fields of history, arts and culture, and media and communication.

What we stand for

The ESHCC offers high-quality education, based on academic research, at the interface between the Humanities and the Social Sciences. We educate our ambitious Dutch and international students in a stimulating learning environment. After having completed their studies, our students have acquired knowledge, insight and skills that enable them to make an important and inspiring contribution to a society that is becoming increasingly more international and in which diversity plays a major role.


    The Faculty offers three Bachelor programmes, who altogether offer five programmes, of which three are completely international:

    Furthermore, the Faculty offers three Master programmes and one Research Master:

    Together with the universities of Glasgow, Göttingen and Barcelona, the History department of Erasmus University Rotterdam offers the Erasmus Mundus International Master 'Global Markets, Local Creativities'.


    The research is thematically linked to the different chairs, and themes surpassing the boundaries of these chairs. A large part of the research is joined in several interdisciplinary centres. The ESHCC has 6 research centres:

    Furthermore, our researchers participate in 6 national research schools:

    Students (2018-2019)

    Amount of registrations

    1868 students (1296 bachelor, 113 premaster, 459 master/research master)

    Nationalities new students

    53% Dutch, 30% EER, 17% non-EER

    International exchanges

    183 incoming, 185 outgoing (2017-2018)

    Amount of degrees awarded to students

    545 in 2017-2018 (281 bachelor, 264 master/research master)


    226 employees (excluding interns, student assistants, posted workers or guest lecturers):

    • 22 professors, of which 11 by special appointment.
    • 95 associate professors, assistant professors and lecturers.
    • 58 PhD students.
    • 40 support staff members.