Erasmus School of Law IMLAM Moot Team ends up fourth in the International Maritime Law & Arbitration Moot Competition

We are proud to announce that the International Maritime Law & Arbitration Moot (IMLAM) Team of Erasmus School of Law ranked fourth place during the 21st annual IMLAM Competition. To date, this marks the highest-ranking of an Erasmus University Rotterdam team in the IMLAM competition. 

The IMLAM competition is a prestigious maritime law moot competition in which university student teams from all over the world compete against each other, resolving a complex maritime moot case through arbitration proceedings. Last year, the 20th edition of IMLAM was successfully hosted in Rotterdam by Erasmus School of Law, supported by its extensive network in the maritime industry. This year, unfortunately, the pleading rounds in Singapore had to be cancelled due to the current COVID-19 crisis, but the competition continued. The teams were now solely judged on their written memoranda. Experienced arbitrators from across the world judged the students on their written advocacy skills as well as on their professional knowledge in the field of maritime law and arbitration.

This year, the Erasmus School of Law Team consisted of four students from each of the four specialisations of the LL.M. Commercial Law offered at Erasmus School of Law: Evangelia Lypridou (LL.M. Commercial & Company Law) Angela Furlanello (LL.M. International Trade Law) Lize Saaiman (LL.M. International Arbitration & Business Law), and Willem Sisselaar (LL.M. Maritime & Transport Law). Besides competing in IMLAM, these students were also actively involved in several other extra-curricular activities offered at Erasmus School of Law, such as the Trade & Transport Law Association (TTLA) and the Commercial Law Student Panels. 

Erasmus University Rotterdam would like to congratulate Evangelia, Angela, Lize, and Willem for their astonishing performance. Besides this, Erasmus University also wants to thank the IMLAM coaches, Dr Julia Constantino Chagas Lessa and Warren de Waegh, LL.M., for their support and guidance of the team throughout the academic year in preparation of the competition.

More information

You can find the official announcement of the results here.