Bachelor Graduation Day 2018 great success!

Erasmus School of Economics

On Saturday 10 November, graduated Bachelor students of Erasmus School of Economics received their diploma during a festive ceremony in the Auditorium on campus Woudestein. This year 396 students received their diploma, which resulted in an Auditorium full to capacity with family and friends for both ceremonies.

For both ceremonies, alumni were invited as speakers. This year, Eline Leijten and Steven Lammertink gave an inspirational speech.  

Eline Leijten studied Economics and Law at Erasmus University Rotterdam and started her career as a strategy consultant at EY-Parthenon. At the age of 28 she resigned from her job to set up Plugify: the online platform where you can book an artist in no time. Plugify was launched in March 2016 and is now the largest artist booking platform in Europe. Eline was awarded as Dutch Champion Pitching and won TheNextWomen Pitch Competition and the TEDxAmsterdamWomen Startup Award.

Steven Lammertink started his first company Republish that digitizes books to e-books, at the age of 19 during his bachelor studies in Economics and Business Economics. With this startup he immediately won a prize as promising young entrepreneur. The prestigious Kauffman Scholarship brought him to Harvard, MIT and Stanford. His second start up, inspired by an internship at the Advanced Technology Lab of Adobe, was Fray. An online marketplace where people can easily request help with running tasks and errands.  Steven's third and current startup, The Cirqle, is the world’s first OAuth verified platform for influencer campaigns and reaches over 1 billion consumers.

We would like to give a special thanks to Dean Philip Hans Franses, Vice-Dean Ivo Arnolds, hosts Dr. Thomas Peeters and Dr. Julian Emami Namini, the professors that handed out the diploma's (Professor Philip Hans Franses, Professor Ivo Arnolds, Drs. Marcel Smeets, Dr. Brigitte Hoogendoorn, Dr. Erik Kole and Dr. Christiaan Heij) and the team that organised the Bachelor Graduation Day (Katja Vermeulen, Michaëla van Velthuizen, Shavony Hoek, Joelle der Kinderen).