Descartes-Huygens Prize for economist Olivier l’Haridon

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has announced that French behavioral economist Olivier l’Haridon is one of the two recipients of the Descartes-Huygens Prize 2016.

l’Haridon, co-author of various papers together with Aurélien Baillon, Han Bleichrodt and Peter Wakker of Erasmus School of Economics, and proposed for this prize by these researchers, has been awarded the prize for his outstanding research and his contributions to Franco-Dutch relations. The € 23,000 prize will allow the French economist to conduct research in the Netherlands.

About Olivier l’Haridon
Olivier l’Haridon (born in 1972) is a professor of Economics at University of Rennes in Brittany, France. L'Haridon is a behavioral economist. He combines labor economics and decision theory with research on experimental economics. l'Haridon is currently studying the perceptions of costs and effects of interventions in the health care system.

The jury has been impressed by l'Haridon’s prestigious publications and his long and ongoing cooperation with Dutch researchers and PhD and Master’s students from Erasmus University Rotterdam. The Descartes-Huygens Prize will allow l'Haridon to continue his close cooperation with Erasmus School of Economics for the next years. That cooperation will lead to new nudge techniques and digital tools that will help people take decisions in uncertain and changing circumstances.

About the Descartes-Huygens Prize
The French and Dutch governments established the Descartes-Huygens Prize in 1995 to recognize researchers for their outstanding work and their contribution to Franco-Dutch relations. The prize is awarded on a rotating basis to researchers in the humanities and social sciences, the natural sciences, and the life sciences. The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences selects the French candidate for the prize. The Dutch candidate is selected by the Académie des Sciences. The prize money, € 23,000 each, is intended to cover the cost of a French researcher’s research residence in the Netherlands, and a Dutch researcher’s research residence in France.

More information

The Prize Ceremony will take place in Amsterdam on 30 January 2017 from 16:00 to 18:00 hrs. For more information about the Prize Ceremony and registration procedure, click here.

Compare @count study programme

  • @title

    • Duration: @duration
Compare study programmes