Sociologist Professor Pearl Dykstra elected as ordinary member of International Science Council

Sociologist Professor Pearl Dykstra from Erasmus University Rotterdam has been elected as an ordinary member of the first governing board of the International Science Council (ICS).

The ICS, formed from the merger of the International Council for Science (ICSU) and the International Social Science Council (ISSC). A ten-member governing board was elected from 53 nominees, with Professor Pearl Dykstra being among those elected. Dykstra attended the event as a nominee of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)

Pearl Dykstra was vice-president KNAW up untill two years ago and is Professor Empirical Sociology at the Department of Public Administration and Sociology, Dykstra is also Deputy Chair of the High Level Group of scientists advising the Cabinet of European Commissioners.

The ISC is a non-governmental organization with a membership of more than 180 international scientific bodies. According to their website, the ISC’s mission is to “act as the global voice for science” and “to advance science as a global public good.” It will “enable international research coordination to contribute more effectively to major issues in the international public domain.”

More information

Marjolein Kooistra, media relations ESSB,