EIPE Staff


Member Office Telephone E-mail
Prof. Roger Backhouse H5-25 010 408 8968 backhouse@remove-this.fwb.eur.nl
Dr. Constanze Binder H5-20 010 408 8969 binder@remove-this.fwb.eur.nl
Dr. Conrad Heilmann H5-12 010 408 8990 heilmann@remove-this.fwb.eur.nl
Dr. Christopher Clarke H5-14 010 408 8962 clarke@remove-this.fwb.eur.nl
Prof. Jack Vromen H5-18 010 408 8970 vromen@remove-this.fwb.eur.nl


Director:Prof. Jack Vromen
Co-Director: Dr. Conrad Heilmann
Co-Director: Dr. Constanze Binder


Erasmus University Faculty of Philosophy 
EIPE Office room H5-25
P.O. BOX 1738
3000 DR Rotterdam

Tel. +31 (0)10 408 8967
E-mail: eipe@remove-this.fwb.eur.nl

Student Representatives

PhD students
James Grayot

Research Master students
Anne Albert van der Galiën

EIPE Honorary Members

  • Mark Blaug (1927-2011) (Erasmus University Rotterdam and University of Amsterdam) History of economics, Methodology of economics, Cultural economics, Economics of education
  • Uskali Mäki (Academy of Finland) Philosophy of economics, Economic methodology, Philosophy of science, Philosophy of social sciences, Social studies of science, Social ontology, Social epistemology, Rhetoric of inquiry.
  • Deirdre McCloskey (University of Illinois) Economic history, Philosophy of economics, Rhetoric of economics, Virtue Ethics.

EIPE Associates

Name University Research field
Prof. Gerrit Antonides Wageningen University Economic psychology, consumer behaviour, experiments
Prof. Roger Backhouse University of Birmingham History and philosophy of economics
Dr.ir. Marcel Boumans
University of Utrecht History and philosophy of science
Prof. Eric van Damme                             Tilburg University Market design, competition policy and analysis, regulation of network industries
Prof. Paul David Stanford University, Oxford History and philosophy of economics 
Prof. John Davis Marquette University, University of Amsterdam

History and philosophy of economics

Prof. Igor Douven Rijks universiteit Groningen Philosophy of science, Epistemology,
Scientific realism, Confirmation theory, Theories of reference, Theories of rationality
Prof. Jean-Pierre Dupuy Paris-1, Stanford University Social and political philosophy
Prof. Sanjeev Goyal Cambridge University
Economic theory, political economy
Prof. John Groenewegen TU Delft Economic organization,
Institutional economics
Prof. Daniel Hausman University of Wisconsin-Madison Philosophy of economics
Prof. George Hendrikse Erasmus University Corporate governance, Economic organization theory, Marketing cooperatives, Methodology
Prof. Maarten Janssen Erasmus University, University of Vienna Microeconomics, Game theory, Internet economics, Information economics
Prof. Arjo Klamer Erasmus University Rhetoric, Culture of science, Cultural economics
Prof. Barbara Krug Erasmus University Transaction costs economics, Institutional economics, Entrepreneurship, China
Prof. Theo Kuipers Rijksuniversiteit Groningen Methodology, Research programmes, Truth approximation, Design research
Prof. Deirdre McCloskey University of Illinois, Erasmus University Economic history, rhetoric of inquiry, economics and literature, feminist economics
Prof. Claude Ménard Paris-1 Economics of organisations and institutions
Prof. Uskali Mäki Erasmus University, University of Helsinki Philosophy and methodology of economics, Scientific realism and its rivals, Social epistemology, Social ontology
Prof. Mary Morgan London School of Economics Economics and statistics; philosophy and history of econometrics
Prof. Bart Nooteboom University of Tilburg Organisation and governance, Inter-organisational relations, Learning and innovation, Entrepreneurship
Prof. Philippe van Parijs Louvain-la-Neuve Economic and social ethics
Prof. Philip Pettit Princeton Moral and political theory, background issues in the philosophy of mind and metaphysics
Prof. Julian Reiss Durham University Philosophy of science, history and philosophy of economics, philosophy of medicine
Prof. Ingrid Robeyns Utrecht University Capability approach, theories of justice, family justice, the assessment of economic systems from a multi-value perspective
Prof. Amartya Sen Harvard University Social choice theory, economic theory, ethics and political philosophy, welfare economics, theory of measurement, decision theory, development economics, public health, and gender studies
Prof. Roland Speklé Nyenrode Business Universiteit Transaction cost economics, Economics of organizational control, Hierarchical governance
Prof. Robert Sugden University of East-Anglia Welfare economics, social choice, choice under uncertainty, the foundations of decision and game theory, the methodology of economics, and the evolution of social conventions
Prof. Ruth Towse   Cultural economics, economics of copyright
Prof. Raimo Tuomela Academy of Finland Philosophy of the social  sciences, especially the general theory of social action
Prof. Viktor Vanberg Freiburg University, Walter Eucken Institut  
Prof. Richard Whitley Manchester Business School, Erasmus University

Economic sociology, Logics of comparative analysis, Institutional frameworks and business systems

Prof. Oliver Williamson University of California at Berkeley Microeconomics
Prof. Ulrich Witt Max Planck Institut Conceptual basis of evolutionary approach applied in several fields of economics, focusing on historical transformations and endogenous changes
Prof. Stefano Zamagni Bologna

Economics, European Union and Transatlantic Relations

About EIPE

  For over a decade now the EIPE has been a leading international center for research in the philosophy of economics, matched only by the London School of Economics.  It has been home to a group of outstanding scholars and teachers, a fine training ground for doctoral students, and a place of pilgrimage for the best of the world's researchers.
Philip Pettit
L.S.Rockefeller University Professor of Politics and Human Values, Princeton University