Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board is responsible for supervising the administration and management of Erasmus University Rotterdam as a whole. It ensures that the Executive Board complies with legislation, rules and regulations and directives relating to the EUR. The Supervisory Board advises the Executive Board and is responsible for approving a number of specific decisions taken by the Executive Board.

The Supervisory Board is accountable to the Minister of Education, Culture and Sciences and provides the Minister with information the Minister requests concerning the actions of the Supervisory Board. The members are appointed and dismissed by the Education Minister. The Minister consults the University Council (or its committee of counsellors) in confidence on this matter. One of the members of the Supervisory Board in particular should enjoy the confidence of the University Council.

Members of the Supervisory Board

  • Chair Supervisory Board 

    First term: from 1 July 2020 u/i 30 June 2024

    Prof.dr. J.W. (Jaap) Winter

    Partner Phyleon, Leadership and Governance 

    Secondary activities

    • Vice-chair Board of Directors Randstad NV
    • Chair Supervisory Board of the Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam Foundation
    • Member Management Board Goldschmeding Foundation
    • Chair Board of ADORE Foundation 
  • Chair of the Quality Committee

    First term: from 1 August 2015 u/i 31 July 2019
    Second term: from 1 August 2019 u/i 31 July 2023 C.J. (Hans) van Duijn

    Board Advisor
    Professor Mathematics at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at the University of Technology in Eindhoven. Until the start of 2015, Professor Van Duijn was the Rector Magnificus of this university. Before that Proffessor Van Duijn was Dean of the department of Mathematics and Computer Science of the university.

    Secondary activities

    • Chair Permanent Committee Large Research Facilities (NWO)
    • Chair Sector Plan Committee Beta Technic
    • Chair JMBC Board
    • Member Mathematics Advise Netherlands (NWO)
    • Member Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities
    • Professor Faculty of Geosciences at Utrecht University (0,0 fte)
    • Professor Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at Eindhoven University of Technology (0,0 fte)
  • Chair of the Audit Committee

    First term: from 1 March 2014 u/i 28 February 2018
    Second term: from 1 March 2018 u/i 28 February 2022

    Mr.drs. P.H.J.M. (Pascal) Visée RA 

    Board Advisor

    Secondary activities

    • Member Advisory Council & Senior Advisor (external) Genpact
    • Senior Advisor (external) McKinsey & Company
    • Commissioner Albron
    • Commissioner and Chair Audit Committee Mediq
    • Commissioner and Chair Audit Committee Plus Retail
    • Member Prins Claus Foundation
    • Chair Supervisory Board Urban Museum Schiedam
    • Member Advisory Board Nolet Group
    • Member Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW)
  • Member of the Supervisory Board

    First term: from 1 July 2020 u/i 30 June 2024

    Drs. L.B.J. (Laura van Geest)

    Chief Executive Officer Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM)

  • Member of the Supervisory Board

    First term: from 1 July 2020 u/i 30 June 2024

    Prof.dr. E. (Ellen) Giebels

    Full professor Psychology of Conflict, Risk and Safety, Twente University 

    Secondary activities

    • Member Advisory Board Safety City of Groningen
    • Member Advisory Board The Netherlands Board on Research Integrity (LOWI) (on the recommendation of NWO)
    • Board Member Kurt Lewin Institute, KNAW Graduate School for Social Psychology and its Applications
    • Member Taskforce NeurolabNL, Theme Safety and Security

Contact the Supervisory Board

Burgemeester Oudlaan 50, Erasmus Building, A2-07
3062 PA

010 - 408 1753

Compare @count study programme

  • @title

    • Duration: @duration
Compare study programmes