(Chitrakshi) C Vashisht

(Chitrakshi) C Vashisht
(external) researcher International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) ISS PhD
Location
Kortenaerkade 12, 's - Gravenhage
Room
I0-15
Telephone
0647039386
Email
vashisht@iss.nl
Back to overview

Profile

With an M.Sc. in Gender and Development Studies and MA in Social Work, I have over eight years of work experience in development sector in the field of gender, sexuality, education, adult literacy, sexual and reproductive health (particularly in the area of HIV/AIDS) in India and community managed disaster risk reduction (CMDRR) in both India and, Bangladesh. I was involved in project design, coordination, implementation; research including policy research, monitoring, evaluation and, documentation including process documentation related to above mentioned fields. I had the opportunity to work with several grassroots level NGOs/CBOs working strenuously for the rights of women, men and transgender (including but not limited to hijra …

With an M.Sc. in Gender and Development Studies and MA in Social Work, I have over eight years of work experience in development sector in the field of gender, sexuality, education, adult literacy, sexual and reproductive health (particularly in the area of HIV/AIDS) in India and community managed disaster risk reduction (CMDRR) in both India and, Bangladesh. I was involved in project design, coordination, implementation; research including policy research, monitoring, evaluation and, documentation including process documentation related to above mentioned fields. I had the opportunity to work with several grassroots level NGOs/CBOs working strenuously for the rights of women, men and transgender (including but not limited to hijra and kothi) identified persons; donor partners such as UNDP, DFID, UNAIDS, MISEROR, European Commission and Cordaid and government agencies such as National AIDS Control Organisation- NACO. 

Rooted from my professional, personal, and educational experiences, I am interested to research in the areas of policy, gender, sexuality, identity, culture, and intimate partner violence. 

Taking few of the research interests forward, during my present PhD project at ISS, I shall try to understand the practice of intimate partner violence among relationships of transgender persons in Delhi, India. 

Lastly, I am fluent in English, Hindi, and Punjabi languages and fairly understand Bengali. I am skilled in proof reading, editing, audio/video transcription/translation in English, Hindi & Punjabi.

 

  • (external) researcher

    University
    Erasmus University Rotterdam
    School
    International Institute of Social Studies (ISS)
    Department
    ISS PhD
    Country
    The Netherlands
    Telephone
    0647039386

Address

Visiting address

Kortenaerkade 12 2518 AX 's - Gravenhage

Postal address

Postbus 29776 2502 LT 's-Gravenhage