Sustainability Award

EFR wins Sustainability Award 2023 during Opening Academic Year 2023-2024

The Sustainability Award is awarded to an existing or new initiative of groups or individuals: students, staff, alumni, student associations or start-ups. The initiative shall be implemented at Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR). We invite the EUR community to nominate candidates suitable for this award. 

About the Sustainability Award

The Sustainability Award has a monetary value of maximum € 5,000 to be invested in the initiative plus a certificate of appreciation. This certificate is signed by the Rector Magnificus. The award ceremony will take place at the opening of the new Academic Year.

The Sustainability Award will be awarded to an individual or group who has the best existing or new sustainability initiative to make a positive contribution to the sustainability of Erasmus University Rotterdam.

Assessment will take place based on the following criteria:

  • the candidate’s contribution to visibility of the EUR;
  • the initiative supports EUR’s sustainability goals;
  • the initiative aims at a clear sustainability impact;
  • the candidate’s approach should fit the Erasmian Way of working (co-creative, innovative, interdisciplinary, outside-in and inclusive);
  • the degree to which the candidate’s innovative ideas are applicable and scalable or replicable;
  • the degree to which the candidate’s innovative ideas leverage future-oriented initiatives as part of the EUR Strategy 2024.

Each nomination is submitted with the following information:

  • A letter of recommendation indicating how the initiative responds to the criteria;
  • A summary/description of the initiative of max. 4 pages, including motives, activities, collaborations, and realized/potential sustainability results;
  • A concise plan (max 2 pages) on how to invest the prize money in the initiative including a budget.

Nominations should be addressed to the Executive Board and can be submitted digitally via Please send one document in PDF per candidate. The deadline for submission is Monday 13 May 2024 12h (noon).


The jury consists of four members:

  • The vice president of the Executive Board (chair)
  • Program Manager Sustainability
  • Director Real Estate and Facilities
  • A representative of the University Council. 

2023: EFR, the school association of Erasmus School of Economics

2022: Eurekaweek Board

2021: The Green Intensive Care

Compare @count study programme

  • @title

    • Duration: @duration
Compare study programmes