Lambers Student Excellence Award

Stijntje Dijk receives Lambers Student Excellence Award 2023

To stimulate student excellence, the Professor H.W. Lambers Student Excellence Award is presented annually to an excellent student who has performed exceptionally well in her or his study career at Erasmus University Rotterdam.

    About the Lambers Student Excellence Award

    The Lambers Student Excellence Award contains a monetary value of € 3,500 and a certificate of appreciation. This certificate is signed by both the Rector Magnificus and the chairman of the Erasmus Trustfonds. The money prize is to be spent on courses, workshops, congresses or trainings (nationally and internationally), or a study period abroad. The award ceremony will take place at the Dies Natalis.  

    Students can be nominated based on outstanding academic achievements, in terms of education and research.

    Candidates for the Lambers Student Excellence Award are assessed based on the following criteria:

    1. The student obtained one (or more) Master degrees in 2022/2023 with distinction;
    2. The student has demonstrated excellent research skills, resulting in a (draft) academic publication;
    3. The student has the ambition to continue her/his career in academia;
    4. The nomination should include:
      • a cover letter of the dean;
      • a recommendation letter of a referee;
      • a curriculum vitae;
      • a list of grades from the Master(s);
      • a summary of the Master thesis/theses;
      • a motivation letter from the candidate, explaining the following:
        • a motivation for the choice of the study/studies;
        • plans for the future;
        • an explanation and argumentation for the designation of the prize money.

    All nominations should be addressed to the Executive Board and submitted digitally as a single pdf to The deadline for submission is Monday 3 June 2024 12h (noon).

    The jury consists of six members:

    • the Rector Magnificus (chairman);
    • two professors;
    • the last year's winner of the Education Prize;
    • two students of the University Council. 

    2023: Stijntje Dijk MD, MSc

    2022: Else-Marie van den Herik & Nyota Kanyemesha

    2021: Charlie Sewalt and Ina Jäntgen 

    2020: Nikki Speklé

    2019: Silvan Licher MSc.

    2018: Mr.drs. Maikel Samsom

    2017: Fleur Osté and Brian Yuk Shouw Chung

    2016: Loes Jaspers

    2015: José Nederhand

    2014: Cleo Scholte

    2013: Elize de Mul

    2012: Abdelilah el Barzouhi 

    2011: Mostafa Mokhles


    Compare @count study programme

    • @title

      • Duration: @duration
    Compare study programmes