Education Prize

dr. Bonnie French wins the Education Prize at the Opening Academic Year 2023.

The Education Prize is awarded to a member of the academic staff or an educational team that has made a positive contribution, through teaching or teaching-related activities, to the education at Erasmus University Rotterdam. The Education Prize is made possible by the Erasmus Trustfonds.

    The prize confers a monetary sum of € 7,000 as well as a certificate of appreciation. This certificate is signed by both the Rector Magnificus and the chairman of the Erasmus Trustfonds. The prize winner is free to decide how she or he wishes to spend the money.

    Candidates for the Education Prize may be nominated by programme committees, as well as by faculty and student associations. The candidates will be assessed on the following criteria:

    • curriculum vitae, if it concerns a single candidate (the candidate will preferably have obtained a doctorate);
    • the contribution of the educational performance to the visibility of the EUR;
    • the innovative approach to teaching;
    • the degree to which the innovative ideas are applicable and useful for other study programmes;
    • the degree to which the innovative ideas leverage future-oriented education as part of the EUR Strategy 2024 (e.g. societal impact, personal and professional development, inclusiveness, educational innovation).

    All nominations should be addressed to the Executive Board and submitted digitally as a single pdf to The deadline for submission is Monday 3 June 2024 12h (noon).

    The jury consists of six members:

    • Rector Magnificus (chairman);
    • two professors;
    • last year's winner of the Education Prize; 
    • two students of the University Council. 

    2023: dr. Bonnie French

    2022: dr. Marloes Nederhand

    2021: dr. Ana Uribe Sandoval

    2020: all EUR teachers

    2019: prof.dr. Han Smit

    2018: prof.dr. Maarten Frens

    2017: prof.dr. Payal Arora

    2016: dr. Christiaan Heij

    2015: dr. Mijke Slot

    2014: Ruben Houweling

    2013: prof.dr. Guus Smeets

    2012: prof.dr. Axel Themmen

    2011: prof.dr. Casper de Vries

    Previous winners of the Education Prize

    Compare @count study programme

    • @title

      • Duration: @duration
    Compare study programmes