Team Erasmus School of Economics winner of the 2nd National Economics Olympiad

Sjors van Wickeren, Andreea Livadariu and Olivier Kooi

With a minor difference, students Sjors van Wickeren, Andreea Livadariu and Olivier Kooi from Erasmus School of Economics managed to leave their competitors behind and win the 2nd National Economic Olympiad. The teams from Tilburg and Maastricht secured the second and third place.

Fifteen student teams (BSc-3 and MSc students with a focus on Business Economics and Econometrics) from 6 Dutch universities competed each other in this prestigious Olympiad on 9 March 2018, which was hosted by study association Aeclipse.

Compared to last year, this Olympiad was particularly tough because students had to deal with nine very difficult questions with subjects ranging from Behavioural Economics to Policy Economics. And on top of that maximum concentration was required to solve a case which was provided by the CPB Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis. In the end team The Arrow, made up of Sjors van Wickeren, Andreea Livadariu and Olivier Kooi showed its supremacy and won the competition for the second time in a row.

Participants of the Olympiad also joined the panel discussion which was titled ‘Need of a European Ministry of Finance’, with three renowned speakers: Reinhard Felke (Deputy Head of Cabinet of Pierre Moscovici, European Commission), Ivo Arnold (Professor of Monetary Economics) and Auke Zijlstra (Member of the European Parliament for PVV).