Department of Humanities

The Department of Humanities coordinates the Majors in Humanities, in Cultural Analysis, and in Political Philosophy and Critical Theory. In addition our department contributes to the Majors in Philosophy, Politics & Economics, and in Sustainability. Please find below a list of staff members and read about their area of research-and teaching expertise.


Head of Department

  • dr. (Robin) R van den Akker

    dr. (Robin) R van den Akker

    Robin van den Akker is Senior Lecturer Continental Philosophy and Cultural Studies in, and academic program coordinator of, the Humanities Department of…

(Senior) Lecturers

  • (Wander) WM van Baalen MA

    (Wander) WM van Baalen MA

    ProfileWander van Baalen is a PhD candidate at Codarts University for the Arts and a lecturer in the Humanities department at Erasmus University College. After…
  • (Sophie) S van Balen

    (Sophie) S van Balen

    Sophie van Balen (MA) is Lecturer Humanities at Erasmus University College. She teaches courses on all levels at EUC, including Modernity, Early Modern…
  • (Charlotte) CS Dwyer MA

    (Charlotte) CS Dwyer MA

    Charlotte Dwyer works at the Humanities Studies department. She is a lecturer Visual Culture, specialized in Aesthetics & Politics. Currently, she teaches…
  • (Amarantha) A Lee - Groen MA

    (Amarantha) A Lee - Groen MA

    Amarantha Groen is a Lecturer in the Humanities at Erasmus University College.Groen teaches courses on all levels within the Humanities department at EUC,…
  • (Tamara) T de Groot MPhil

    (Tamara) T de Groot MPhil

    Tamara de Groot is at home in the field of art and culture, with a background in art history with a dash of literature and film studies. After studing at…
  • dr. (Friso) JF van Houdt

    dr. (Friso) JF van Houdt

    Friso van Houdt is Senior Lecturer in the Humanities at Erasmus University College (EUC) Rotterdam.Friso was trained as a criminologist, sociologist and social…
  • dr. (Julien) JP Kloeg

    dr. (Julien) JP Kloeg

    dr. J.P. (Julien) Kloeg is Senior Lecturer in Philosophy at the Humanities Department of Erasmus University College Rotterdam.Julien works on political…
  • (Caglar) C Koseoglu MA

    (Caglar) C Koseoglu MA

    Çağlar Köseoğlu (1985) studied philosophy and literature in the Netherlands, Turkey and the US. He received his second MA in Aesthetics and Politics at…
  • dr. (Maryse) MJ Kruithof

    dr. (Maryse) MJ Kruithof

    Maryse Kruithof graduated on her doctoral thesis “Shouting in a desert”, Dutch missionary encounters with Javanese Islam, 1850-1910 in the History department…
  • dr. (Irene) I van Oorschot MSc

    dr. (Irene) I van Oorschot MSc

    Irene van Oorschot is a PhD student at the Department of Sociology at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Irene van Oorschot, Msc. attained a Bachelor’s in Liberal…
  • dr. (Ginie) VFC Servant - Miklos

    dr. (Ginie) VFC Servant - Miklos

    Dr. Virginie (Ginie) Servant-Miklos is an education expert with a broad and diverse academic background. She teaches in the Department of Economics and…
  • dr. (Christian) CDC van der Veeke

    dr. (Christian) CDC van der Veeke

    Christian van der Veeke (1980) is senior lecturer in the Humanities at Erasmus University College (EUC), part of Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR). Previously…

Dual Degree (RASL) Coordinator

Taalproject JINC

  • Ruby Knipscheer

SA Erasmus Honours Programme

  • Claire Tio