The 'Founding Fathers', from left to right: J.A. Ruys, C.A.P. van Stolk and W.C. Mees
Photo: Collection Historical Photo-archive EUR

1913: Netherlands School of Commerce

Erasmus University Rotterdam has been in existence in its present form since 1973. Its history, however, dates back to 1913, the year in which the Netherlands School of Commerce (Nederlandsche Handels-Hoogeschool, NHH) was founded through private initiative with broad support from the Rotterdam business community.

1939: Netherlands School of Economics

The statutory recognition of higher education in commerce and economics as an academic discipline resulted in 1939 in a change of name. The NHH became the NEH (Nederlandse Economische Hogeschool) or Netherlands School of Economics.

The growing complexity of society led in the 1960s to the arrival of the faculties of Law and Social Sciences, followed in later decades by Philosophy, History and Arts, and Business Administration.

1966: Medical Faculty Rotterdam

From 1950, the Foundation for Higher Clinical Education used its best efforts to get a full academic medical study programme established in Rotterdam, and with success. In 1966 the government established the Medical Faculty Rotterdam, which was housed next to Dijkzigt Hospital. Together with the Sophia Children's Hospital and the Daniel den Hoed Clinic, it forms the University Hospital Rotterdam, which as of 1 January 2003 bears the name Erasmus MC.

1973: Erasmus University Rotterdam

In 1973, the Medical Faculty Rotterdam and the Netherlands School of Economics merged to become Erasmus University Rotterdam – the first university in the Netherlands named for a person, a man to whom Rotterdam owes the reputation it has held for centuries in the academic world, Desiderius Erasmus.

In 2009, the International Institute of Social Sciences became part of Erasmus University. ISS is an internationally renowned institute in the field of development studies and international cooperation.

Centennial Room

In the Centennial Room near the auditorium is the permanent exhibition about 100 years history of Erasmus University Rotterdam. Emphasis within the exhibition is given to Nobel Prize winner Prof. Jan Tinbergen. He received the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1969.  



Rectores magnifici

2013-heden prof.dr. H.A.P. Pols 1956-1957 prof.dr. J. Wisselink 1927-1928 prof.mr. H.W. Drucker
2009-2013 prof.dr. H.G. Schmidt 1971-1973 prof.dr. C.J. van der Weijden 1938-1939 prof.dr. Z.W. Sneller
2004-2009 prof.dr. S.W.J. Lamberts 1970-1971 prof.drs. H.W. Lambers 1937-1938 prof.dr. N.J. Polak
2000-2003 prof.dr.ir. J.H. van Bemmel 1968-1970 prof.mr. W.J. Slagter 1936-1937 prof.dr. P.E. Verkade
1993-2000 prof.mr.dr. P.W.C. Akkermans 1967-1968 prof.dr. A.I. Diepenhorst 1935-1936 prof.mr. F. de Vries
1989-1993 prof.dr. C.J. Rijnvos 1966-1967 prof.drs. R. Burgert 1934-1935 prof.mr. C.W. de Vries
1986-1989 prof.dr. A.H.G. Rinnooy Kan 1965-1966 prof.ir. T.J. Bezemer 1933-1934 prof.dr. W.E. Boerman
1983-1986 prof.dr. M.W. van Hof 1964-1965 prof.dr. J.H. Kuhlmeijer 1932-1933 prof.dr. Z.W. Sneller
1979-1983 prof.dr. J. Sperna Weiland 1960-1964 prof.drs. H.W. Lambers 1931-1932 prof.dr. N.J. Polak
1975-1979 prof.dr. B. Leijnse 1959-1960 prof.dr. J.H.van Stuyvenberg 1930-1931 prof.dr. P.E. Verkade
1974-1975 prof.dr. P.W. Klein 1958-1959 prof.drs.H.W. Lambers 1929-1930 prof.mr.dr. H.R. Ribbius
1973-1974 prof.dr. C.J. van der Weijden 1957-1958 prof.drs. Ch. Glasz 1928-1929 prof.mr. F. de Vries
    1955-1956 prof.dr. W.E. Boerman 1926-1927 prof.dr. W.E. Boerman
    1954-1955 prof.dr. B. Pruijt 1925-1926 prof.dr. Z.W. Sneller
    1953-1954 prof.dr. B. Schendstok 1924-1925 prof.dr. N.J. Polak
    1952-1953 prof.dr. J.H. Kernkamp 1923-1924 prof.dr. P.E. Verkade
    1951-1952 prof.dr. H.J. Witteveen 1922-1923 prof.mr.dr. H.R. Ribbius
    1950-1951 prof.drs. H.W. Lambers 1921-1922 prof.mr. F. de Vries
    1949-1950 prof.drs. Ch.Glasz 1920-1921 prof.mr. W.H. Drucker
    1947-1949 prof.mr. Ph.A.N. Houwing 1919-1920 prof. J.G. de Jongh
    1945-1947 prof.mr. C.W. de Vries 1918-1919 prof.mr.dr. N.W. Posthumus
    1944-1945 prof.dr. G. Gonggrijp 1913-1918 prof.mr.dr. G.W.J. Bruins
    1943-1944 prof.dr. J.F. ten Doesschate    
    1940-1943 prof.dr. G. Gonggrijp    
    1939-1940 prof.dr. W.E. Boerman