Prizes and Accomplishments

Recognition of scholars and scientific research at the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences, including through grants, appointments and honorary doctorates.


The European Research Council (ERC) awards grants to the best researchers in Europe. In addition, the ERC aims to stimulate innovative research. Over the past years, ESSB-researchers have received ERC grants in various categories. A number of ESSB researchers have also been offered a grant by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO).

International - ERC

International - Marie Skłodowska-Curie 

International - H2020

NWO Spinoza Prize

National - Zwaartekracht

National - NWO Veni, Vidi, Vici


The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) serves as a learned society representing the full spectrum of scientific and scholarly disciplines. Also, this institution acts as a management body for national research institutes and it advises the Dutch Government on matters related to scientific pursuit. Several scholars of Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences have been granted this honour.

KNAW members

The KNAW annually selects a maximum of 16 new members. A membership is for life and is an honour for an academic career. Three academics from the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences are members of the KNAW.

  • Prof. dr. Eveline Crone
  • Prof. dr. Pearl Dykstra
  • Prof. dr. Godfried Engbersen

The Young Academy

The Young Academy of the KNAW is a platform of researchers from various disciplines who have proven themselves in their profession. The Young Academy has fifty members between the ages of 25 and 45. Two young scientists from the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences are members of the Young Academy.

  • Prof. dr. Renske Keizer
  • Prof. dr. Willem Schinkel (Alumnus)

Academy Honours Programme for Young Artists and Scientists 

  • Wander van Baalen (EUC)
  • Boo van der Vlist (EUC)

Early Career Award

  • Dr. Jonathan Mijs

Honorary Doctorates

Scientific nominations

Erasmus Fellow | Young Erasmus Academy

Each year, Erasmus University Rotterdam offers doctoral candidates and promising young EUR researchers a fellowship to give them the opportunity to carry out research. The following researchers have received a fellowship: 

  • Dr. Jolien Grandia
  • Dr. Jess Bier
  • Dr. Samira van Bohemen
  • Dr. Marieke Meeuwisse
  • Dr. Janna Cousijn

Highly Cited Researcher

  • Prof. dr. Arnold Bakker

    Professor Arnold Bakker is head of the Erasmus Center of Excellence for Positive Organizational Psychology. His research focuses on positive organizational behavior and engagement, but also on happiness at work. 

Compare @count study programme

  • @title

    • Duration: @duration
Compare study programmes