Honorary Doctorates

On the occasion of the Dies Natalis, Erasmus University Rotterdam regularly awards honorary doctorates to natural persons on account of their outstanding earnings in sciences practiced at EUR.

University of Michigan

Honorary Doctorates 2020

Jane Dutton

Prof. Jane Dutton (University of Michigan) was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Rotterdam School of Management. She is the Robert L. Kahn Distinguished University Professor Emerita of Business Administration and Psychology at the Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan. Her research and academic leadership lie at the intersection of strategy, management and organisations, and psychology. Prof. Dutton has looked at the role and importance of compassion at work – and how this creates more resilient and harmonious organisational cultures.

Columbia Law School

Katharina Pistor

Professor Katharina Pistor has been nominated by Erasmus School of Law in recognition of her pioneering multidisciplinary research on the relationship and interaction between finance, financial markets and law. Her work highlights the crucial point that even in the age of globalisation, politics and law can shape our economies and make them more purposeful in creating and distributing wealth and promoting equality; issues that are also at the heart of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

Honorary doctorate for Jane Dutton | Dies Natalis 2020

Honorary doctorate for Katharina Pistor | Dies Natalis 2020

Previous Honorary Doctorates

View previous Honorary Doctorates

prof. Paul Gertier, iBMG
prof. John P.A, Ioannides, FGG/Erasmus MC

prof. Nancy Fraser, FW en ESHCC

prof. Steven D. Levitt, ESE
prof.dr. Cass R. Sunstein, ESL
prof.dr. Craig J. Calhoun, FSW
prof.dr. Brian J. Druker, FGG/Erasmus MC
prof.dr. Philip S. Kitcher, FW
prof. Arjun Appadurai, ESHCC
prof.dr. Don C. Hambrick, RSM
prof.dr. R. Chambers, ISS

Prof.dr. Alice H. Eagly, RSM
Prof.dr. Mike Drummond, iBMG

Lord Rodger of Earlsferry, ESL (posthuum)

View previous Honorary Doctorates

Prof.dr. Geoff Norman, FSW

Prof.dr. Daniel Kahneman, ESE

Prof.dr. Hau Lee, RSM
Prof.dr. Sonia Livingstone, FHKW
Prof.dr. Guido Calabresi, FR

Prof.dr. Barry R. Bloom, FGG/Erasmus MC

Prof. Jonathan I. Israel, FW
Prof.dr. Sir Clive W.J. Granger, FEW
Prof.dr. Arnold Zellner, FEW

View previous Honorary Doctorates

Prof. Richard H. Thaler, RSM

Prof. Howard S. Becker, FHKW

Prof.dr. J.P. Olsen, FSW
Prof.dr. P. Nurse, FGG/Erasmus MC
Prof.dr. Th.C. Schelling, FEW

Prof.dr. Jutta Limbach, FR

View previous Honorary Doctorates

Prof.dr. P.B. Checkland, FB
Prof.dr. H.L. Dreyfus, FW
Prof. A. Cassese, FR
Prof.dr. P.N.T. Wells, FGG

Mr.dr. H.D. Tjeenk Willink, FSW

View previous Honorary Doctorates

Prof.dr. Sumitro Djojohadikusumo, FEW

Prof. R.B. Stewart, FR
Prof.dr. S.A. Ross, FEW
Prof.dr. M.E. Porter, FB

Dr. R. von Weizsäcker, FHKW

View previous Honorary Doctorates

Prof.dr. D. Collen, FGG
Prof.dr. A.C.R. Dreesmann, FB
Prof.dr. J. Kocka, FHKW
Mr. G. Marotta, FW
Prof.dr. Th. van Boven, FR
Prof.dr. J.N. Bhagwatti, FEW

View previous Honorary Doctorates

Prof. Ch. Tilly, FSW
Prof. N.K. Jerne, FGG
Prof.dr. H. Theil, FEW

View previous Honorary Doctorates

E. Silva Cimma, FR
Mr. J.G.L. Reuder, FR
Dr. Hilda Verweij-Jonker, FSW
Prof. W. Isard, FEW
C.A. Oomens, FEW

Prof.dr. A. Querido, FGG
Prof.dr. C.A.G. Wiersma, FGG
Prof.dr. T. Caspersson, FGG

1973 Prof. H.A. Simon
1972 Dr. J.J. Polak
1968 Dr. H.B. Chenery
1963 Dr. T.C. Koopmans
1963 Dr. M.W. Holtrop
1958 Mr. K.P. van der Mandele 'due to exceptional merit'
1954 W.A. Engelbrecht
1948 P. Rijkens
1948 W. Drees
1947 Prof.dr. Th. Limperg
1946 Lord William Beveridge

  • Honorary Doctorate in business science 1928 for Rotterdam banker G.H. Hintzen (left) and Dutch industrial A.F. Philips (right).
    Picture: collection historical photo archive EUR

    Since the start of the 'Nederlandsche Handels-Hoogeschool' in 1913 the following honorary doctorates were received by:

    1930 Dr. A.D.A. de Kat Angelino
    1928 A.F. Philips
    1928 G.H. Hintzen
    1922 A.G. Kröller

  • Erasmus MC - Erasmus Medical Centre
  • ESE - Erasmus School of Economics 
  • ESHCC - Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication 
  • ESHPM - Erasmus School of Health Policy & Management 
  • ESL - Erasmus School of Law 
  • ESPhil - Erasmus School of Philosophy
  • FB - Faculteit der Bedrijfskunde (now Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University)
  • FGG - Faculteit der Geneeskunde en Gezondheidswetenschappen (now Erasmus MC)
  • FHKW - Faculteit der Historische en Kunstwetenschappen (now Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication)
  • FR - Faculteit der Rechtsgeleerdheid (now Erasmus School of Law)
  • FSW - Faculteit der Sociale Wetenschappen (now Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences)
  • ESSB - Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences 
  • FW - Faculteit der Wijsbegeerte (now Erasmus School of Philosophy)
  • iBMG - instituut Beleid en Management Gezondheidszorg (now Erasmus School of Health Policy & Management)
  • ISS - International Institute of Social Studies
  • RSM - Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University 

Compare @count study programme

  • @title

    • Duration: @duration
Compare study programmes