109th Dies Natalis

Building Resilient and Inclusive Cities and Societies
Kindertekening van de stad van de toekomst

Over half of the world’s population lives in cities and the number is rapidly growing. As a result, cities, urban deltas and their communities face new social, cultural, environmental and economic challenges. The 109th Dies Natalis of Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR) on Tuesday, 8 November 2022 was therefore devoted to "resilient cities and societies for future generations".

How can Erasmus University Rotterdam contribute to cities and societies where new generations can grow up to meet their full potential? How can we ensure they are better equipped to live and thrive in our future cities? Who better to ask than the future generation?

Dies Natalis 2022 Aftermovie


Photos Dies Natalis 2022

Corine van der Sande & Hanan el Marroun
Dies Natalis 2022
  • Cortege student associations during Dies Natalis
  • Rector Annelien Bredenoord op het podium
  • INOYSON during Dies Natalis 2022

Dies Natalis 2022

Corine van der Sande en Hanan el Marroun
1/10 Corine van der Sande & Hanan el Marroun
Alexander Santos Lima
Cortege studentenverenigingen - Dies Natalis 2022
2/10 Cortege student associations
Arie Kers
Rector Annelien Bredenoord op het podium
3/10 Rector Annelien Bredenoord
Arie Kers
INOYSON tijdens Dies Natalis 2022
Arie Kers
Michelle Achterberg ontvangt Research Prize
5/10 Dr. Michelle Achterberg receives Research Prize
Arie Kers
Eredoctor Ien Ang tijdens Dies Natalis 2022
6/10 Honorary doctor Ien Ang on stage
Arie Kers
Eredoctor Ien Ang in het publiek
7/10 Honorary doctor Ien Ang in the audience
Alexander Santos Lima
Eredoctor Ann Masten tijdens de Dies Natalis 2022
8/10 Honorary Doctorate Ann Masten in the middle
Alexander Santos Lima
Mpanzu Bamenga host van dies natalis 2022
9/10 Host Mpanzu Bamenga
Alexander Santos Lima
Cortege van dies natalis 2022
Alexander Santos Lima
Corine van der Sande & Hanan el Marroun
Cortege student associations during Dies Natalis
Rector Annelien Bredenoord op het podium
INOYSON during Dies Natalis 2022
Michelle Achterberg gets Research Prize
Honorary doctorate Ien Ang during Dies Natalis 2022
Honorary doctor Ien Ang in the audience
Honorary Doctorate Ann Masten during Dies Natalis 2022
Mpanzu Bamenga host of Dies Natalis 2022
Cortege Dies Natalis 2022

The programme included contributions by:

  • Kids Perspective

    During the event children will share their thoughts about life in future cities.

  • Mariya Gabriel

    Mariya Gabriel - EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth

    Mariya Gabriel is a Bulgarian politician and serving as EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth. She is responsible for European Union policies related to Horizon Europe, research and innovation, the Erasmus+ programme, education, culture and sport. During the ceremony she will convey a special video message to the audience.

  • Annelien Bredenoord – Rector Magnificus Erasmus University Rotterdam

    Annelien Bredenoord is a professor, member of the Dutch Senate, supervisory authority and director and works at the interface of healthcare, technology and innovation, ethics and politics. As Rector Magnificus of Erasmus University Rotterdam she will provide perspective on the theme ‘Building resilient cities and societies’ in the Dies speech.

  • Mpanzu Bamenga

    Mpanzu Bamenga

    The host of the ceremony is Mpanzu Bamenga. This ambitious councillor, activist, politician and founder of the Inclusion Leaders Network, is an advocate for diversity & inclusion. For his efforts against ethnic profiling, he received the title Human Rights Human 2021.

  • Inoyson


    Artist INOYSON provides the musical entertainment of the Dies Natalis 2022. This extraordinary Ukrainian artist left the country after the war broke out. In the Netherlands the multi-instrumentalist continues to make music, cooperate with Dutch musicians and introduce us to Ukrainian art and culture.

Honorary doctorates

During the Dies Natalis, two honorary doctorates were awarded for their exceptional academic achievements.

Honorary doctorates 2022

Logo of Erasmus Trustfonds.

Academic prizes awarded at Dies Natalis 2022

During the Dies Natalis, the Executive Board presents awards to outstanding researchers and students of our university. By doing so, we recognise the talent we have and express our appreciation for scientists and students who have made a significant contribution.

Students helping out in the campus garden

Erasmus University Rotterdam has set itself the goal of becoming a CO2-neutral university by 2024. To achieve this goal, we are making our campus, education and research more sustainable. 

Sustainability is also central to the organisation of the Dies Natalis. Together with our production partner Bee Agency and all suppliers, EUR is making an effort to create an event with the smallest possible carbon footprint. By compensating the unavoidable emissions, we ultimately create a CO2-positive event!


  • We use seasonal products as much as possible
  • All products are supplied by local suppliers
  • We do not serve meat dishes 
  • We only use sustainable solutions for serving
  • Quantities are adjusted to prevent food waste

For all the catering around the Dies Natalis, we will establish the total food footprint together with Vitam catering en Erasmus Food Lab. With this we indicate our environmental impact for this event. During the reception, which takes place after the event, there is the opportunity to exchange ideas about sustainable catering with students from Erasmus Food Lab. The sustainable catering is supported by a video that can be viewed on the spot.

Decor en furnishing

To avoid waste and unnecessary production of materials, the decor is hired from Ideeëntheater. In this way, no pieces of scenery are made especially for this project, but we make creative and efficient use of existing parts, which will also be used for other concepts after our project. In addition, this supplier is used for the decoration of the event at other locations at the university.


Erasmus University Rotterdam makes as much use as possible of self-generated sustainable energy, for example by using solar panels. Around the Dies Natalis we actively reduce energy consumption by using intelligent lighting, LED lamps and adjusting ventilation and temperature control according to the actual number of attendees.

Transport and transportation

Our own staff, the staff of our production partner and our suppliers limit the use of polluting transport methods. We prefer to use bicycles or public transport. Sometimes, however, it is unavoidable to use a car or truck, for example to transport large materials. In such cases, electric vehicles are preferred.

Compensation of emissions

It is inevitable that the Dies Natalis will also have a negative impact on the environment, no matter how much effort we put into mitigation measures. That is why the EUR finds it important to fully compensate the emissions of the event, and we go even further. With this CO2-positive event, we are setting the standard for the future!

Wat can you do?

Transport and transportation

Choose green transport! We ask our guests to come to the campus by bike or public transport if possible. If that is not possible, we recommend the use of an electric (rental) car and/or shared transport. There are already many initiatives in this field:

Would you like to know more about what our university is doing in the field of sustainability? Or would you like to contribute to it yourself, in any way you can? Read about all our innovations in the field of sustainability.

Compare @count study programme

  • @title

    • Duration: @duration
Compare study programmes